Home » Committee demands nomination of RS MP from 8 deprived ACs

Committee demands nomination of RS MP from 8 deprived ACs

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 1 minutes read

Imphal, April 16: Thoubal District MP Candidature Demand Committee has submitted a memorandum to the prime Minister of India urging him to elect Rajya Sabha MP from among the candidates from 8 Assembly constituencies of the outer Manipur Parliamentary constituencies who are deprived of contesting election as the outer seat is reserved for ST candidate. 
Around 2,35,182 voters of the 8 Assembly constituencies  viz, Sugunu, Hiyanglam, Waagai, Kakching, Heirok, Wangjing Tentha, Kangabok and Jiribam Assembly Constituencies are allowed to cast their vote in the Lok Sabha election, but they are deprived from contesting the election as the seat is reserved for ST candidate.
In a press meet held today at Manipur Press Club, spokesperson of the Thoubal District MP Candidate Demand Committee said that after the demise of the Rajya Sabha MP Haji Abdul Salam, the RS seat remain vacant so while filling the vacant seat the candidate should be from the 8 Assembly segments.
He further said that the continued denial of the democratic right to contest the Lok Sabha Election in their own constituency for the last 65 years is a gross injustice. And the trend is destined to linger upto 2026 thereby extending the denial for 10 more years. So in the coming bye election for Rajya Sabha for the state of Manipur, The BJP Led government of Manipur should elect a person from the constituency, so that justice is delivered to 2 lakhs above voters. 

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.