Home » CLP leader O. Ibobi says the result of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly was not the people’s mandate

CLP leader O. Ibobi says the result of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly was not the people’s mandate

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, April 6:

Congress Legislature Party wing leader Okram Ibobi Singh, who had hold the post of Chief Minister of Manipur for 3 consecutive years today hit hard to the BJP, saying that the number that the party get in the just concluded 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly Election is not the mandate of the people but was elected using unfair means.
Talking during the felicitation function of the newly appointed President of the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) K. Meghachandra at Congress Bhavan here in Imphal today, the former chief minister said that all sort of unfair means has been used by the BJP in the last election to win 32 seats.
“Even CWC member Gaikhangam, who is the former deputy chief minister and his families during congress rule, was not allowed to vote at the polling station of his own constituency at Nungba by goons and other muscle power”, Ibobi said.
He also said that every people knows how the election was conducted at Chandel and Tengnoupal assembly constituencies to make sure that the BJP candidate won the election.
On the other hand, Okram Ibobi appealed the congress workers not to be discouraged with the recent election result as it was not a public mandate. He recalled on the up and down of the political journey of Congress party. He recalled on how former Chief Minister Rishang Keishing remain as the lone congress member when every one of the congress MLAs had left the party for their own benefit. Later, When congress party retain to power in the post June Uprising , all those who left the party return back . He said that people of the state are being mislead by the BJP saying that government with political party who is in the opposition at the center will not get proper fund.
“Such information are misleading, everyone knows that when there was NDA government in the center, the Congress government in the state gets its state share”, Ibobi said adding that there is no such provision that state share will be deducted if there is a different government in the center.
Ibobi further assured that he along with the congress party senior leaders will give all possible support to the newly elected President of MPCC K. Meghachandra and his team to strengthen the Congress party.
CWC member Gaikhangam, former MPCC president TN Haokip, former Lok Sabha MP Dr. T. Meinya, former speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly Th. Lokeshwar among others were present in the felicitation function of K. Meghachandra.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.