Home » Campaign for 1st Phase Election ends; 168 candidates including 6 women are in the fray in 38 Assembly constituencies

Campaign for 1st Phase Election ends; 168 candidates including 6 women are in the fray in 38 Assembly constituencies

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

Imphal, March 2: Election campaign of the 1st phase election of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly ends scheduled on March 4 ends today as per directives of the ECI. The first phase election will be held at 38 assembly constituencies located at Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur, Churachandpur, Kangpokpi and Phezerol districts. A total of 168 candidates are in the fray in the first phase election. Among these 6 are women candidates.
Total number of voters that can exercise franchise is 11,19,271. Among these 5,75,221 are female voters. Election commission had established 1,487 polling stations in the 38 assembly constituencies.
In this first phase election BJP is fielding candidates in all the 38 assembly constituencies while the ruling congress could field only in 37 assembly constituencies.
One of the oldest regional party of the state, Manipur Peoples’ Party which had even form government in the state this time field only 13 candidates. Lok Jansakti Party LJP, which had a legislator in last assembly election is fielding  candidates in 12 assembly constituencies , Trinamool Congress field candidates in 10 Assembly constituencies, Manipur National Democratic Front (MNDF) field candidates in 10 assembly constituencies, North East India Democratic Party (NEIDP) field candidates in 8 assembly constituencies. Irom Chanu Sharmila’s new political party (PRJA) is also contesting in 3 assembly constituencies however only one candidate will fight in the first phase. 18 candidates are fighting the election as independent candidates.
Among those candidates contesting are congress candidate Th. Lokeshwar of Khundrakpam Assembly Constituency, who is also the speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, and other congress Ministers, I Hemochandra of Singjamei Ac, MPCC president TN Haokip, Works Mnister KH Ratankumar, Commerce and Industries Minister K Govindas, IFCD Minister Ngamthang Haokip and Social Welfare Minister AK Mirabai, who is also one among the two lady candidates of Congress party.
Among the BJP, some of the prominent figures contesting this elections are Former Union Minister Th Chaoba, former Minister Y. Erabot, former Minister N. Biren, Former chairman of the HAc V Hankhalien, veteran politician Okram Joy.
Former Minister in the Okram Ibobi Singh led Congress government Phunzathang Tonsing of Churachandpur assembly constituency, who had joined the NPP after his name has been announced as congress candidate is also contesting as NPP candidate from the same assembly constituency. Former Minister L Jayentakumar of keishamthong Assembly constituency who was denied congress ticket is also contesting as NPP candidates.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.