Home » By- Election: BJP candidate Ginsuanhau is left alone after rival candidate withdraw today

By- Election: BJP candidate Ginsuanhau is left alone after rival candidate withdraw today

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News

Imphal, Oct 22:

Of the five assembly constituencies which will go to by-poll on November 7, Independent candidate Chinlunthang of Singhat Assembly constituency today withdraw his candidature leaving BJP candidate Ginsuanhau as the lone candidate , which literally means that he is elected from the constituency uncontested.

A total of fifteen candidates were in the fray after the rejection of once candidate from Wangoi Assembly constituency during scrutiny yesterday.

With Ginsuanhau being the lone contestant from the Singhat, BJP now has 19 members literally and is the single largest party as of now. The Congress party has not fielded any candidate at Singhat Assembly constituency in this bi-election but fielded candidates in all the remaining 4 assembly constituencies where the bi-election will be held.

The BJP too does not fielded any candidate at Lilong assembly constituency but is supporting the Independent candidate Md. Nashir , whom the Chief Minister had stated that he had sacrificed his seat for the cause of the government.

Lilong assembly constituency is going to have a tough election fight with five candidates including a lady candidate in the fray. Except for MD. Azizul Haque which is a Congress candidate all the remaining are fighting the election as independent candidates.

After the rejection of one candidate during scrutiny by the returning officer yesterday, three candidates are going to have a tough fight at Wangoi Assembly constituency. INC candidate Salam Joy defeated last election with just two digit votes while the BJP candidate O Lukhoi is holding a cabinet post in the present Ministry. NPP candidate Kh Loken too is also working hard with two Ministers as NPP in a coalition partner of the existing government.

As for Wangjing Tentha, INC candidate M. Hemanta, BJP candidate P Brojen and Independent candidate M. Manaobi are in the fray. There are reports of election campaign gaining momentum amidst COVID -19 SOPs. 

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.