Home » BJP officially announces Kh Joykishan & Th. Bishwajit as their candidates for Thongju & Thangmeiband AC by-election

BJP officially announces Kh Joykishan & Th. Bishwajit as their candidates for Thongju & Thangmeiband AC by-election

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 2 minutes read

BJP today officially announced its candidate for the upcoming bye-election in Thongju Assembly Constituency and Thangmeiband Assembly constituency. BJP Central Election Committee Secretary, Jagat Prakash Nadda in an official release name Khumukcham Joykishan as the party’s candidate for Thanhmeiband Assembly Constituency and Thongam Bishwajit as the party candidate in Thongju Assembly constituency. Two candidates applied for BJP ticket in Thongju Assembly constituency whereas only one applied for the Thangmeiband Assembly Constituency.
In a press meet held today at BJP Manipur Pradesh Office at Nityapat Chuthek, President, BJP Manipur Pradesh Th. Chaoba said that election campaign for both the candidate will be intensified to make sure that both the BJP candidates win in both the seats. He said there is no misunderstanding between the BJP workers while allotting ticket to the two candidates. He said all the BJP workers will work together in this by-election.
As for the Manipur State Congress Committee, Jotin Waikhom was declared as its candidate for the Thangmeiband Assembly Constituency while former Minister Bijoy Koijam will contest at Thongju Assembly as MPCC (Congress –I) candidate. With the finalization of announcing the party candidate it is now sure that the by-election in both the Assembly constituencies is going to be a straight fight between the Congress party and BJP. What is more interesting is that Congress rules in Manipur while BJP is leading the government at the Center.
Election Commission of India has announced the date of polling for this by-election on November 21, 2015. The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Manipur has issued election Notification today. Last date for filing nomination is November 4 and the scrutiny of the nomination will be held on November 5. Last date for withdrawal of candidatures is November 7.
Counting of vote will hold on November 24.
By-election will also be held at Jharkhand (72-Lohardaga ST), Madhya Pradesh (171- Devas), Mizoram (12 – Aizawl North – III (ST)) and Meghalaya (32- Nongstoin ST) on the same date.
Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in the upcoming by-election for all the state.
According to the Chief Election Office, the total number of voters in Thangmeiband Assembly Constiuency is 25,114 including 13,687 female voters while the number of male voters is 12,570.
In Thongju Assembly constituency, the total number of voters is 28,214 including 14,564 female voters and 13,650 male voters.
By election in the two Assembly Constituencies of Thangmeiband and Thongju was necessitated after the Speaker’s Tribunal disqualified the then two sitting MLAs of Thangmeiband and Thongju under the anti-defection law on May 28 this year.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.