Home » Battleground 2022 Manipur Election is set; Left out BJP intending candidates started joining new political parties

Battleground 2022 Manipur Election is set; Left out BJP intending candidates started joining new political parties

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

IT News
Imphal, Jan 31:

A day after the BJP announced the list of its candidates for the 60 assembly constituencies for the upcoming state Assembly election scheduled to hold in two phases – Feb-27 and March 3, there appeared a paradigm shift in the electoral politics in the state.
BJP MLA from Moirang Assembly Constituency, P. Sarat Singh who had been denied BJP tickets had joined the Congress party along with Ningthoujam Biren, a former Minister who got elected from Sekmai Assembly Constituency, and Ningthoujam Joykumar Singh, an intending candidate of Bishnupur Assembly Constituency. Source from the MPCC said that some more candidates may also join the party later today evening or tomorrow. The Congress Party had already announced 40 names of the candidates who are contesting in 40 assembly constituencies on January 22, 2022.
Nitish Kumar led JD(U) , which restrained from filing candidates in the last assembly election now is fielding candidates in not less than 10 seats. Maybe the number may rise with more candidates which have been denied tickets by the BJP are likely to join either today or tomorrow. MLA Khumukcham Joykishan who had won election thrice from the Thangmeiband Assembly constituency joined the JDU and one of the prominent youth leader Th. Brinda Devi , who is contesting from Yaiskul Assembly constituencies had also joined the JD (U) and since then there are more candidates in the line to join the JD(U).
On the other hand, 6 (six) intending candidates including two MLA of the BJP who had been denied ticket by the BJP is also all set to contest the election in NPP ticket. Source said that the NPP leadership had already accepted them to join the NPP. Among them are MLA Y Erabot of Wangkhei Assembly Constituency, MLA Rameshwar of Kakching Assebly constituency, former Minister L. Mangi of Kumbi Assembly constituency, former BJP MLA Sobhachandra of Naoriya Pakhanglakpa Assembly constituency, Former MLA N. Loken of Sagolband Assembly constituency, Anwar Hussain of Lilong Assembly constituency and Rameshwar of Patsoi Assembly constituency.
Meanwhile, NPF is also all set to field candidates in 16 assembly constituencies. In the last Assembly election the NPF field 15 seats and won 4 seats. With the four seats, NPP played a major role in the formation of N. Biren Singh Government.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.