Home » 7th National Voters’ Day observed

7th National Voters’ Day observed

by Rinku Khumukcham
0 comment 2 minutes read

Imphal, Jan. 25: The 7th National Voters’ Day was observed today at the City Convention Centre, Palace Compound, Imphal. The observation was organised by Chief Electoral Office, Manipur on the theme “Empowering Young and Future Voters”. In connection with observation Chief Guest of the function, Chief Secretary Shri Oinam Nabakishore Singh inaugurated a photo exhibition on SVEEP Campaign and launched an Android based Mobile App for electors called “e Manipur Election”.
Speaking on the occasion, Shri Oinam Nabakishore Singh said the choice of the representatives of the people in the coming 11th Manipur State Assembly Legislative Election, 2017 will have a huge impact in the future. He appealed to the all voters to carefully exercise their choices as the future of the state depends on their choice. Despite economic blockade, the election will be conducted in free and fair manner, he added.
Shri Oinam Nabakishore Singh also administered National Voters’ Day pledge to the gathering.  As part of the observation, a SVEEP comic book was released and election icon video messages were also screened to the crowded auditorium. Election icons were also felicitated at the function. Prizes were given to the winners of the longest painting competition held for state level schools and colleges. Selected newly enrolled voters were given badges and EPIC (Voter Card). A lucky draw on EPIC (Voter Card) number was also held as part of the observation.
Addressing at the observance, Chief Electoral Officer Shri Vivek Kumar Dewangan said since 2011 the Foundation Day of the Election Commission of India is observed to encourage people above 18 years to enroll and exercise their franchise. He said SVEEP is an awareness programme focusing on young voters and welcoming them in electoral participation. Today all the first time voters in all the districts will be given EPIC (Voter Card), he added.
Attending the function were Shri Dr. J. Suresh Babu, IAS, Additional Chief Secretary, Shri Shambu Singh, IAS, Additional Chief Secretary, LM Khaute, Director General of Police, Manipur, MH Khan, IAS, Principal Secretary, RK Dinesh, Additional CEO, Manipur, Hrisheekesh Modak, Joint CEO, Manipur, Lupheng Kailun, Inspector General of Police, Manipur among others.

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.