Home » 4 Congress MLAs along with lone TMC MLA join BJP

4 Congress MLAs along with lone TMC MLA join BJP

by IT Web Admin
0 comment 1 minutes read

Imphal, April 28: In a major boost to the BJP-led coalition government, four more Congress legislators crossed over to the saffron party and the state unit of the Trinamool Congress which commands a legislator merged en bloc with BJP today thus providing a comfortable majority for chief minister N Biren at the Assembly.
The current strength of BJP legislators in the state Assembly has reached 28, seven more than it originally won at the Assembly elections, while that of the Congress party has dwindled from 28 to 22 since the declaration of results of the elections.
The four MLAs who ditched the Congress to join the BJP were Y Surchandra of Kakching assembly constituency, Sanasam Bira of Kumbi AC, Oinam Lukhoi of Wangoi AC and Ngamthang Haokip of Saitu AC. They were accorded a warm felicitation by BJP state unit president K Bhabananda, chief minister N Biren and senior leaders and workers of the party at the BJP office at Nityaipat Chuthek.
Meanwhile, in another major development, the state unit of the TMC merged with the BJP. According to reports, the lone party MLA Tongbram Robindro, who was elected from Thanga AC, along with all office bearers joined the BJP.  
With the joining of the four MLAs the number of Congress legislators who switched to the BJP has risen to six. Present Cabinet minister Th Shyamkumar who was elected from Andro AC was the first to ditch the party doing it immediately after the declaration of results of the state Assembly elections. Later, Tipaimukh MLA Ginsuanhau followed suit.    

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Imphal Times is a daily English newspaper published in Imphal and is registered with Registrar of the Newspapers for India with Regd. No MANENG/2013/51092


©2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Hosted by eManipur!

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.