Log in

LA Speaker administers oath of office to the two re-elected MLAs

Khumucham Joykishan and Thongam Bishwajit who were re-elected from Thangmeiband and Thongju as BJP MLAs in the recently held bye-election today took oath as MLAs at Manipur Legislative Assembly. The oath was administered by the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, Th. Lokeshwar. Deputy Chief Minister, Gaikhangam, Deputy Speaker Preshow Shimray, Chairman of Hill Area Committee, Dr. Chaltolian Amo, MLA Y. Irabot and MLA K. Sarat were also present in the oath taking ceremony.
Mentioned may be made that both the MLAs Kh. Joykishan and Th. Bishwajit were disqualified by the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly under the 10th Schedule of the Indian Constitution. Both were elected as Trinamool Congress MLAs in the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly.Both Joykishan and Bishwajit joined the BJP after they were disqualified and contested the bye-election as BJP candidates.

Speaking to reporters after taking oath, Thongam Bishwajit said that he will work to fulfill the basic requirement of the people of his constituency to enhance economic growth.
Khumukcham Joykishan on the other hand stated that he will be playing effective role as opposition in the state assembly. He said those matters which were assured by the concern minister in the assembly session but were never converted into action will be complained to the central leadership as the party he belongs is in power at the center.

Leave a comment

Please do not post Hate Speech, derogatory, racist, obscene, spam comments.