State BJP may deny ticket to sitting MLA, likely to announce the first list of candidates before Jan 25

Written By: / Sunday, 16 January 2022 20:04

IT News
Imphal, Jan 16:

As done in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP may drop party tickets to some of the sitting MLAs in the state of Manipur, a reliable source said. It is likely that the BJP may field new face candidates at some of the Assembly constituencies where there are sitting BJP MLAs.
The BJP announced its first list of 111 candidates for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections. The BJP denies party tickets to 20 sitting MLAs. One of the grounds is that some of them have crossed 75 years of age. And another is to counter the anti-incumbency factor. This formula is likely to apply in the state of Manipur too.
The first list of candidates may be announced on or before January 25, as the Ticket committee comprising of BJP Manipur Pradesh President A. Sarda Devi, Chief Minister N. Biren Sing, Minister Th. Biswajit, former Minister Th. Radheshyam, National leader of BJP in-charge of Manipur Abhay Giri and Dr. Sambit Pattra, former Union Minister Th. Chaoba among others had already completed preparing the first list, a source close to Imphal Times said.
The expected constituencies where the BJP may announce their candidates are Heingang, Thongju, Keirao, Nambol, Mayang Imphal, Singjamei, Langthabal, Lamshang, Saitu, Saikot, Thoubal, Wangjing Thentha, Mayang Imphal, and Hiyanglam Assembly constituencies.
Election for the first phase poll is scheduled on February 27. The first phase election will be held at 1-Khundrakpam, 2-Heingang, 3-Khurai, 4-Khetrigao, 5-Thongju, 6-Keirao, 7-Andro, 8-Lamlai, 9-Thangmeiband, l0-Uripok, 1l-Sagolband, l2-Keisamthong, l3-Singjamei, l4-Yaiskul, 15- Wangkhei, 16-Sekmai (SC), 17-Lamsang, 18-Konthoujam, 19-Patsoi, 20-Langthabal, 21- Naoria Pakhanglakpa, 22-wangoi, 23-Mayang Imphal, 24-Nambol, 25-Oinam, 26-Bishenpur, 27-Moirang, 28-Thanga, 29-Kumbi, 46-Saikul (ST), 50-Kangpokpi, 51-Saitu (ST), 55- Tpaimukh (ST), 56-Thanlon (ST), 57-Henglep(ST), 58 Churachandpur (ST), 59-Saikot (ST), and 60-Singhat (ST).
Notification for the election will be issued on February 1.
For the second phase poll scheduled on March 3, the election will be held at 30-Lilong, 3l-Thoubal, 32-Wangkhem, 33-Heirok, 34-Wangjing Tentha, 35-Khangabok, 36-Wabgai, 37-Kakching, 38-Hiyanglam, 39-Sugnoo, 40-Jiribam, 4l-Chandel (ST), 42- Tengnoupal (ST), 43-Phungyar (ST), 44-Ukhrul (ST), 45-Chingai (ST), 47-Karong (ST), 48- Mao (ST), 49-Tadubi (ST),52-Tamei (ST), 53-Tamenglong (ST) and 54-Nungba (ST) assembly constituencies.

About the Author

Rinku Khumukcham

Rinku Khumukcham

Rinku Khumukcham, Editor of Imphal Times has more than 25+ years in the field of Journalism. A seasoned editor, was a former editor of ISTV News. He resides in Keishamthong Elangbam Leikai, with his wife and parents. Rinku can be contacted at [email protected] 

Follow him

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.