‘Order’ issued by the Speaker for induction of 8 MLAs to HAC is not valid – Okram Joy

Written By: / Saturday, 04 September 2021 20:29

IT News
Imphal, Sept 04:

Veteran politician and former law minister Okram Joy Singh today questions the legality of the order issued by the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly in connection with the induction of 8 MLAs to the Hill Area Committee (HAC) of the Manipur Legislative Assembly.
“As per the ‘HAC order, 1972’ issued by the then President of India VV Giri for implementation of the Article 371 C, there is no mention of any power or authority conferred to the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly”, Okram Joy said mocking the legal advisor of the present government saying that the so-called legal advisors of the government seem to need another legal advisor to advise them.
The veteran politician said that he had no interest and discussing the good or bad of the order but he simply wants to protect what has been given in the constitution of India and the Rules of business of the state Assembly.
“I don’t want to digest the good or bad of the order but what I am trying to explain is the constitutionality, legality and Procedural matter in connection with the order”, O Joy said calling the order issued in connection with the induction of the 8 MLAs to HAC as null and void, as issuance of such order cannot be done by the speaker of the Manipur State Assembly.
He further said that as per the provision of Article 371 C, it is only the President of India in addition with some responsibility to the Governor but nowhere in the order has mentioned any power or authority of the Speaker of the State Assembly.
O Joy further said that the secretary and the staffs of the state legislative assembly seem to have intentionally skipped discussing over the issuance of such order or either the Secretary simply followed the speaker without exercising their wisdom.
“I am pointing out this matter through the press because I consider this matter as one of the most sensitive issues”, Okram Joy said.
Mentioned may be made that the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly had approved the inducting of 8 MLAs namely Lourembam Rameshwar Meetei, Khumukcham Joykishan Singhm, Karam Shyam, N. Loken Singh, L. Radhakishore Singh, Y. Antas Khan, Keisham Meghachandra, and Thokchom Radheshyam as the member of the Hill Area Committee (HAC). With their induction, the total number of HAC members reached twenty-eight (28).

About the Author

Rinku Khumukcham

Rinku Khumukcham

Rinku Khumukcham, Editor of Imphal Times has more than 25+ years in the field of Journalism. A seasoned editor, was a former editor of ISTV News. He resides in Keishamthong Elangbam Leikai, with his wife and parents. Rinku can be contacted at [email protected] 

Follow him

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.