Teachers on Strike of DM college transferred

Written By: / Wednesday, 13 January 2021 17:14

IT News
Imphal, Jan 13:

In a tricky move to suppress the ongoing agitation by the teachers of the DM University constituent Colleges, the government has transferred two teachers who are the Convenor and executive member of the Ad-hoc Committee of Constituent Colleges of DM Universities.

The Adhoc Committee has been demanding for absorption of the faculties who had been teaching the DM University for two years before recruitment of 88 fresh faculty of the DMU as advertised by the Govt. of Manipur.

Also Read: Dhanamanjuri University and its Identity Crisis

Convenor of the Adhoc Committee Dr. A. Noni , Assistant Professor teaching Political Science at D.M. College of Arts  has been repatriated to Moirang College , while member of the Committee B. Shantikumar Sarma , Associate Professor teaching English at the same college has been transferred at Kha Manipur College Kakching. Two separate order in connection with the repartition and transfer of Dr. A  Noni and B Shantikumar has been issued by the Commissioner of Higher and Technical Education, Government of Manipur M Harekrishna yesterday.

It may be mentioned that the teachers of the five constituent colleges; D.M. College of Arts, Science, Commerce, G.P. College and LMS Law College, of the Dhanamajuri University are up in arms about their unsolicited position in the university. According to the Internal Structure Committee instituted by DMU in November 2020, the ‘existing teachers’ include the utilised faculties from several colleges of the state who were deputed to shoulder the burden of undergraduate and post-graduate teaching in the constituent colleges of Dhanamajuri University. In addition to the woes caused by the SARS-COV 2 pandemic, the University is continuously in troubled waters due to enormous existential crises and apathy of the political authorities. The Ad-hoc Committee of the Constituent Colleges of Dhanamanjuri University has suspended the recently resumed online classes while affirming its stand to boycott offline classes as well.

The Committee has been spearheading a series of sit-in-protests since the 6th January of the current year. The Committee reportedly submitted a memorandum to the V.C. in-Charge on December 9, 2020 to fully absorb the existing teachers of the constituent colleges in the Dhanamanjuri University before the proposed recruitment of 88 Assistant Professors.  

About the Author

Maheshwar Gurumayum

Maheshwar Gurumayum

Maheshwar Gurumayum, Sub-Editor of Imphal Times is a resident of Sagolband Salam Leikai. He has been with Imphal Times since 2013. An avid adventure lover, writes mostly travelogue. He can be contacted at [email protected]

Follow him

Leave a comment

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.