Log in

War of politics sets to begin as Congress MLAs file petition for disqualification of 2 Congress MLAs who joined BJP

IT News

Imphal, Nov 8,


Of the six congress MLAs who defected to the BJP, fate of two MLAs is likely to be in deep trouble with two Congress MLAs filing petition for disqualification to the Tribunal of the Manipur Legislative Assembly.

Congress MLA of Sugnu Assembly Constituency, Kangujam Ranjit Singh filed the petition for disqualification of MLA Oinam Lukhoi Singh who got elected from Wangoi Assembly Constituency while Congress MLA D.D. Thaisii of Karong Assembly Constituency filed the petition for disqualification of Kakching Assembly Constituency MLA Yengkhom Surchandra separately today to the speaker’s tribunal.

MLA Surchandra and MLA Lukhoi were elected as Congress MLAs from their respective assembly constituencies  but later joined the BJP along with 4 other Congress MLAs on April 2017.

The filing for disqualification of the MLA who had defected by violating the 10th Schedule of the Indian Constituency by sitting MLA, particularly from the Congress is likely to give a major change in the political theatre of Manipur.

The petitions were filed under Article 191 (2) and Para 2(1) (a) of the Tenth Schedule to the constitution of India in addition with rule 6 of the members of Manipur Legislative Assembly which stated about disqualification on the ground of defection rule of 1996.

The filing of the petition of the disqualification of the 2 MLAs who had defected from the Congress party turns out to be a significant move with the Parliamentary Election knocking at the door. The Parliamentary election is likely to be held in early months of 2019. Political analyst term the Congress MLAs move as a tactful move as it also signals intimidation to the 4 Congress MLAs who joined the BJP. The four MLAs are Sanasam Bira of Kumbi AC, Ngamthang Haokip of Saitu AC, Ginsuanhau Zou and MLA Th, Shyamkumar of Andro Assembly constituency.

MLA Shyamkumar was the first to defect and joined the BJP and become a Minister in the N. Biren Singh led Government.

In the State Assembly Election, Congress which was then in power bagged 28 seats to finish as the single largest group. The BJP, which secured 21 seats much less then the Congress managed to joined hands with Nationalist Peoples’ Party (NPP), which have 4 MLA, Naga Peoples’ Front (NPF) which also have 4 MLAs and Independent MLA from Jiribam along with Congress MLA Shyamkumar to form the government in March 15.

Earlier petition for disqualification of Th. Shyamkumar and Ginsuanhau Zou and Y Surchandra were filed to the speaker’s tribunal, but today’s petition against the two MLAs for disqualification is the first which has been filed by sitting MLA of the congress.

Interestingly, the 6 Congress MLA including Minister Shyamkumar were not officially recognized as BJP MLAs by the state Assembly. In the state Assembly Session the six MLAs continued to sit among the Opposition benches except for Minister Th. Shyamkumar. But BJP Manipur Pradesh Committee had already enrolled them as their party member. Warmth reception function were organised to the joining of the MLA to BJP by BJP Manipur Pradesh Committee.

Rinku Khumukcham

Rinku Khumukcham, Editor of Imphal Times has more than 15+ years in the field of Journalism. A seasoned editor, was a former editor of ISTV News. He resides in Keishamthong Elangbam Leikai, with his wife and parents. Rinku can be contacted at [email protected] 

Leave a comment

Please do not post Hate Speech, derogatory, racist, obscene, spam comments.