Sh Ajit

Sh Ajit

Sh Ajit, a resident of Khongman, Imphal East is a regular contributor of Imphal Times mostly news photo and articles. He is a father of a lovely son. His favourite quote is " A Picture is worth Thousand words". He can be contacted at [email protected]

Follow him

IT News
Imphal, Nov 7:

Raj Medicity is opening a Dedicated Covid Block in an area segregated from the main hospital building in the old parking area to cater to the needs of the Covid Positive patients of the state.  Raj Medicity MD Haobijam Rajen expressed that they are providing a spacious block with beds having required distances between beds and crossed ventilated to dilute the viral load in order to reduce cross infection between patients and to the health workers.
“To start with, we are starting with 21 beds including 4 ICU beds with ventilators and 3 High Flow Nasal Canula (HFNC) and BIPAP and will be adding 50 more beds in the near future. We are trying to provide homely atmosphere in the block with dedicated Nurses and Doctors in each shift with extra nurses for ventilator dependent patients”, he said.
He furher said that patients shall be provided food by the hospital - 2 meals, breakfast and evening snacks including fruits at a reasonable and affordable price.
No patient party shall be allowed in the Covid Block but they will be allowed to see the condition of the patient through window pane.
“We have already started seeing patients with no testing for Covid in the open air OPD. Only those patient requiring admission shall be tested and patient are admitted either in the Covid Block and Non-Covid Block according to the result of test (+ve or -ve accordingly).
All Covid +ve patients’ mild, moderate and severe cases shall be admitted and shall be treated in accordance with the clinical Management Protocol provided by the Government”.

IT News
Imphal, Nov 6:

Hockey India has officially declared the election of Mr. Gyanendro Ningombam of Manipur as its President today at the 10th Hockey India Congress & Election held in New Delhi. On
being elected unopposed, Gyanendro Ningombam becomes the first President from the northeast India to spearhead Hockey India. He will serve as Head of the national federation for two years. Manipur Hockey congratulates Mr. Gyanendro Ningombam on his election as the full-fledged President of Hockey India. Earlier, Gyanendro Ningombam has been serving as the Officiating President of Hockey India since July 2020, following the resignation of Mohd Mushtaque Ahmad on 7 July 2020 due to his personal and family commitments.
Gyanendro has been associated with the discipline of Hockey in Manipur for the last 40 years, and has impressed with his work at the grassroots level. He was Senior Vice President of Hockey India, Senior Vice President of Manipur Hockey, and also Chief Executive Officer of Manipur Hockey. He also served as the editor of Meeyam, an evening daily in Manipur.
Meanwhile, Manipur Hockey is organising a Grand Reception Ceremony at the Imphal
International Airport on his arrival at 1.00 PM on 8th November 2020. All members of Manipur Hockey Executive Board, District Units, players and Hockey lovers are requested to participate in the Reception with full compliance of Covid-19 SoP laid by the Government of Manipur.

IT News
Imphal, Nov. 5:

A total number of 1,31,512 electors will cast their votes in the 4 assembly constituencies – to decide the fate of 10 candidates who are in the fray at the by-election of 4 Assembly constituencies on November 7.
Voting will start at 7am and concludes at 5pm on the voting day. Three candidates namely Oinam Lukhoi Singh (BJP), Salam Joy Singh (INC) and Khuraijam Loken Singh(NPP) will fight for the Wangoi seat.
At Wangjing Tentha Assembly constituency three candidates namely Moirangthem Hemanta Singh of Indian National Congress (INC), Paonam Brojen Singh of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Independent candidate S. Manaobi are contesting for the seat.
At Lilong Assembly constituency Md Azizul Haque Khan of Indian National Congress (INC), Independent candidates Mohd Abdul Nasir, Md. Abdul Zabar Khan and Y. Antas Khan are having tough fight for the seat.
At Saitu assembly constituency, BJP Candidate Ngamthang Haokip and INC candidate Lamtinthang Haokip will have straight fight.
Two candidate – one from Lilong assembly constituency and another from Singnhat Assembly constituency have withdrawn their candidature leaving the seat for Singahat for BJP as uncontested candidate . However at Lilong four are contesting the by-election even after one had withdrawn.

IT News

Imphal, Nov 5: 

The Election Commission of India (ECI) conducts elections— General, Assembly  or By elections, whether in pleasant times or such time of COVID-19 pandemic with the motto of ‘not leaving a single voter behind’. Under the supervision of Election Commission of India and the Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur; District Election Office, Imphal West is ready with various safety measures of COVID-19 for voters in respect of 22-Wangoi Assembly Constituency By Election 2020 that falls on 7th November, 2020.

 “No need to panic, come forward, exercise your own rights and cast your valuable votes,” said the District Election Officer, Imphal West Naorem Praveen Singh. Talking in his official chamber, DC Lamphelpat, DEO Imphal West added that safety measures for COVID- safe election focussing on masks and hand gloves distribution, thermal screening for all electors, sanitizer, soap and water for washing hands, social distancing for at least six feet to each other, token system to avoid queues, optional postal ballot facility for electors who are above the age of 80 and COVID positive & quarantined electors at different COVID care centres. He also stated that sanitization of polling stations are among the mandatory measures.

Explaining vividly about the process of casting vote, he stated that every voter who comes out to vote will be provided hand gloves while standing in queue maintaining COVID appropriate physical distance. Upon entering the polling booth, polling officer-I will check the voter’s name on voter list and ID proof and the voter need to lower his/her facemask for identification. Polling officer-II will mark voter’s finger nail with indelible ink, give a slip and take voter’s signature. Polling officer-III will take the slip and check the mark on voter’s finger nail. Then, the voter can press ‘button’ against the candidate of his/her choice to vote on the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM); consequently a red light glows with a beep sound. If any voter don’t want to choose any candidate, then ‘none of the above’ (NOTA) button is available as last option. Voter can check the printed paper slip through glass on VVPAT window on EVM-VVPAT after which the voter has to dispose the used glove in a dustbin and sanitize hands before exiting the polling station.

In another step for COVID safe election, if the body temperature of any voter is found above the set norms in two readings, then the elector will be given token/ certificate to come and vote at last hour of poll. Adhering to COVID-19 preventive measures, electors with COVID-19 related symptoms will be allowed to vote in the last hour of the poll. Every polling personnel will be provided Personal Protection Equipment (PPE) kit, Praveen assured.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.